top of page

WHO-WFSA International Standards for a Safe Practice of Anesthesia

The World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists is a unique, global network of National Societies that brings together qualified practitioners of this specialised area of medicine.

As an essential element of any safe and pain free surgical intervention anaesthesiology is a major contributor to positive health outcomes. The WFSA works to make safe anaesthesia universally accessible and to improve patient care around the world.

These standards are recommended for anaesthesia professionals throughout the world. They are intended to provide guidance and assistance to anaesthesia professionals, their professional societies, hospital and facility administrators, and governments for improving and maintaining the quality and safety of anaesthesia care. They were adopted by the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists on the 13th June 1992, and revisions were ratified on 5th March 2008 and on 19th March 2010.

Penlon International Standards for Safe Practice of Anaesthesia
Download PDF • 478KB

To see the full range of Penlon Anaesthetic machines, visit

19 views0 comments


bottom of page